Colander Cup

To some, it is but two salad bowls and a spaghetti strainer duct taped together, but to the denizens of Kaslo, British Columbia, Canada, it is the coveted Home Hardware Colander Cup – awarded each year to the team that wins the Kaslo Jamboree hockey tournament.

Elsewhere, children dream of hoisting Lord Stanley’s chalice, but the children of Kaslo ask, “Daddy, do you think I could win the Colander Cup one day?” (If you try your hardest and eat yer veggies, son.) And “How do you drink from a colander, mother?” (Quickly, my girl – very quickly.)

Join us the last weekend before Christmas when the Kaslovian diaspora are called home to attempt to lay claim to the most coveted trophy in all of beer-league, pick-up, has-been and never-was hockey: The Colander Cup.


2019 Champions: Frosted (Lorne Anderson & Jo Davie)

2018 Champions: Hell Raisers

2017 Champions: Engine Engine (Greg McRae)

2016 Champions: Amish (Captain Rob Tate)

2015 Champions: Liberace (Captain Glen McRae)

2014 Champions: Karamozov (Captains Scott & Cameron Gillies)

2013 Champions: Toews (Captain Cheryl Rempel)

2012 Champions: Death Star (Captain Cal Walker)

2011 Champions: Chutney (Captain Ben Lang)

2010 Champions: Brittney (Captain Rick Wiltse)

2009 Champions: Patchouli (Captain Rick Wiltse)

%d bloggers like this: